I-90 in Montana

I-90 in Montana

Well these were an interesting two interesting weeks as they included my move (driving) from Ann Arbor, Michigan to my temporary training grounds of Bainbridge Island, Washington (right outside of Seattle).  To avoid having to do any workouts while driving I squished them into the beginning of the week and held my maintenance run plus and long run for my travel days.  While this was nice for the trip portion, I paid a heavy price during the beginning of my first 140 mile week in terms of workload, hitting ~90 miles in the first four days and putting in a sub-par performance in my fartlek pace-wise (even if the effort level was high).  On the other hand, that wasn’t anything that sitting on my duff for 9-10 hours a day in a car couldn’t fix and by the time Sunday came around I was ready for a surprisingly good long run in Bismarck, ND.  If you ever find yourself in that area, check out the series of parks and trails along the Missouri River for a good run.  Also of note driving across the northern United States, besides the beauty of open country, were the number of bugs I ran across.  It got to the point where I had to wash off my headlights when I got to gas stations…not something I’ve experienced before.

Bugs

Bugs

Week 11 Morning Afternoon Other Total
Monday 70 60 Strides 130
Tuesday 4x5x1,000 w/1 min rest, 2:30 b/t sets. Set avgs 2:57, 2:54, 2:54, 2:50 40 140
Wednesday 70 60 Strides/Lift 130
Thursday Fartlek 2 x 8,6,4,3 w/2 min rest.  Avg on 4:50 40 135
Friday 110 110
Saturday 45 45
Sunday 150 150
Weekly 840 (140mi)

I arrived in Seattle Monday evening and by the next morning most of the stuffiness was out of my legs for the progression run.  A note about this run, while it looks to be similar to the one I did in week 7, this one dropped the pace quicker leading to an overall faster average pace.  On Friday I had a shorter, quicker workout.  This was in part due to the impending long run workout on Sunday, as well as to work on my top end gears, something I’ve been having some difficulty reaching in the past few weeks of training.  It went very well, easily sliding into the necessary speeds (this is not to say the effort level was not high), and getting a boost from flats for the last three repeats.  Overall this was a nice down week in mileage to recover from travel and to get ready for another 140 mile week.

Week 12 Morning Afternoon Other Total
Monday 60 60
Tuesday 60 min Progression Run 5:20-4:45 100
Wednesday 100 30 Lift 130
Thursday 80 40 Strides 120
Friday 30 6 x Mile w/1:30 rest, 4:30, 32, 31, 25, 26, 23 100
Saturday 70 70
Sunday 140 w/10 10 min segments of med (~5:20), hard (~5:02), easy (~5:38) 140
Weekly 720 (120mi)
Leave a Reply

