Running Log: Weeks 7-8

Well these these have certainly been a two tough weeks on my body.  I knew looking ahead at my schedule they would be as they were my first two weeks of significant mileage as well as my first marathon focused workouts.  Combined that with recovering from a road 10k and the lower leg tightness associated with it, I’ll be glad for a few down days heading into the USA 7 mile Championships next week.

This block of training featured my first progression run and aerobic fartlek of the season.  The progression run starts slowly, slower than marathon pace, and gradually quickens to threshold pace and finishes beyond it.  It’s a useful workout as it eases you into the paces and accustoms the body to becoming aggressive and dropping below marathon pace at the end of an effort, in addition to the aerobic benefits.  It’s also a handy post race workout as it’s not as demanding overall as a pace run of equal duration.

For this progression run, I started at 5:20 pace for the first twenty minutes and then gradually worked my way down over the next forty minutes to 4:40 pace for the last thousand.  While I was very happy with the workout due to hitting my paces precisely in a relaxed manner, I also came out of it with a slightly inflamed lower distal peroneal which took a few days to rid myself of.  Lower leg issues have been my achilles heel (figuratively and literally) in the past, so I take the least bit of tightness or soreness seriously and immediately take evasive actions.  In this case it involved a rotation of shoes, icing multiple times a day, heating before runs, getting a couple of massages and sleeping 10-12 hours day.

This week also included my first aerobic fartlek which occurs in the middle of a long run.  In this case I had seven segments of twelve minutes for a total of eight-four minutes of hard running in the middle of a 2:20 long run following the pattern of medium, hard and easy. Warm up and cool down are done without break as this is the long run of the week.   This is one of the workouts that will gasping for breath and completely exhausted by the end, although I’ve also been known to push the given pace constraints, so it’s probably my fault.

 

Week 7 Morning Afternoon Other Total
Monday 60 35 Lift 95
Tuesday 40 Progression Run 60 min 5:20-4:40 140
Wednesday 100 Lift 100
Thursday 65 35 Strides 100
Friday Fartlek 6,6,5,5,4,4,3,3,2,2 rest is half rounded up. 115
Saturday 30 30
Sunday 140 w/ 7 12 min segments of med (~5:29), hard (~5:20), easy (~5:40) 140
Weekly 720 (120mi)

Well this week involved something that hasn’t happened in the last four years to my recollection…I had to cut a workout short.  On Friday I was supposed to do 2x5xmile, however, after the 6th mile I was going backwards and significantly off my splits.  In an attempt to salvage volume from the workout I moved to thousands but those were even slower.  It was a difficult decision for me to stop the workout at this point.  On one hand, my legs were done and my times were 10 seconds per mile or more off.  On the other hand, if you quit once when it gets tough or things aren’t going well, it becomes much easier to quit again which is not a routine I want to get in.  At that point the question had to be asked, how did it get to this point?  Sure the workout was hard on paper: high volume, low rest, and fast splits, but it was something I should have been able to handle given the past few weeks.  My focus was definitely off, I had picked my head up and started to think ahead to next week’s race instead of taking things a day at a time, yet that doesn’t account for everything.  At this point, I’ll have to chalk it up to a hard two weeks of training and a heavy lift on Wednesday.  All that’s left now is to recover and not screw up again in the future.

Week 8 Morning Afternoon Other Total
Monday 65 40 Lift 105
Tuesday 50 min PR avg 4:58 40 130
Wednesday 105 30 Lift 135
Thursday 65 35 Strides 100
Friday Failed 2x5xMile, w/1 min rest, only got in 6 50 115
Saturday 150 150
Sunday 45 45
Weekly 780 (130mi)

*Note: Unit of measurement is minutes. To convert to miles, divide by six or so.

2 thoughts on “Running Log: Weeks 7-8

Leave a Reply

